Inside Out, Upside Down: An Interview with Rachel

Tell us about yourself! Do you prefer coffee or tea? What do you enjoy doing when you have a kid-free moment?

Hi Everyone! I am a “mostly” stay at home mom to my 4 children, but I also own and run a small screen printing business, and I work 10 hours a week as a Physical Therapist. I prefer coffee, but my husband would claim that with the amounts of flavored creamer that I add to every cup, it no longer counts as real coffee.  I am unashamed. 

Inside Out, Upside Down: An Interview with Colleen

Introduce yourself! Would you rather have a salty or sweet snack? What are the things you like to do in your down time?

Hi! My name is Colleen D’Angelo, and I am a 47-year old mom of two daughters. My husband and I have been married for 23 years, and our daughters are Sheridan and Jordan. We’ve lived in Washington for the past 7 years after moving from California. My husband is a psychologist for the Department of Defense, and he works on Joint Base Lewis McChord working with soldiers who are experiencing PTSD.

Technology and Us: Who is Consuming Whom?

We all have had those unexpected epiphanies, moments when we realize we have a problem. Mine came through a casual conversation one night with my husband.

He was telling me a story while packing his gym bag, and I was laying on the bed, looking at my phone. I don’t remember what the big deal was with whatever I saw on my screen. Was I scrolling social media or checking my email? Responding to a text message or perusing the news app? I don’t recall. I just remember my eyes being glued to the screen while Trey talked away in the background. I imagine I must have looked a little bit like Sméagol with his ring, my face lit up to an unnatural blue by the screen's artificial light. 

Inside Out, Upside Down: An Interview with Nicole James

Introduce yourself! What are your favorite family activities? Tell us about your family.
I am a physician assistant, musician, and homeschooling mother of four children—two girls (10 and 8) and two boys (6 and our 2 1/2 year old foster son). My eldest is a writer and a nurturer who loves animals, babies, and nature. My 8YO is an inventor who studies anatomy in her free time, sells her paintings on the side of the road, and hates socks. Both the boys are extremely loud and love music and drums. My 6YO dreams of playing the tuba and sharing a bunk bed with his little brother “if he gets to live with us.” And the littlest? He just learned how to tattle on his siblings and is obsessed with Thomas the Train and chapstick. 

Inside Out, Upside Down: An Interview with Nicole Cole

Tell us about yourself!  Do you prefer coffee or tea?  What do you enjoy doing when you have a kid-free moment?  
Hey, I’m Nicole! I’m a wife, mama to “almost twins”, and I am able to stay home with these sweet babies while also keeping up with our photography and videography business! We live in a little town in North Mississippi, but we’re only minutes away from downtown Memphis, TN. If you popped into my house in the early morning hours you’d see me with a giant cup of coffee. If you popped over in the afternoon... you could very likely see the same! Ha! I do really love tea though - the Celestial Caramel Apple Dream is SO GOOD!